Introduction

by mikeflanagan1

Since the death of the LiveJournal era, I’ve been guilty of starting blog after blog and letting them all die with the most genuine intentions of keeping up with them. I’m realizing that I don’t know how to write when I let myself go weeks at a time without doing it. With this new blog, I’ll try to stop being the worst journalism major ever. I’m not going to waste time trying to tell you why you should read my blog or think my opinions are more important than yours. There are far too many elitist websites and blogs out there and it always makes me wonder why people read them if the writer’s goal is to make the reader feel inferior. I’m much more interested in hearing what people have to say about my aimless rants. In fact, I’d love to spawn sub-pointless rants, if I may be so ambitious.

So, the bottom line is this: I want to be a writer, so I’m going to write here. About anything that might interest me, infatuate me, or piss me off on any particular day. Just because I am an aspiring writer who goes to Emerson doesn’t mean I think I’m smarter than you. But, I don’t blame you for stereotyping me in that way. I think that’s absolutely fair.

All I can say is that if I find that people are actually reading occasionally and checking back, I’ll be far more motivated to keep this updated. So thanks in advance for reading. I’ll try my absolute best to save you all the pretentious, self-righteous bullshit that is all too prevalent in the blogosphere (whatever the fuck that is) these days.

