“Pete Wentz: accidental internet poster boy” (Fall Out Boy hiatus)

by mikeflanagan1

So, last week this happened:

Fall Out Boy drummer Andy Hurley's Twitter

 

To be fair, the other unnamed member of Fall Out Boy (he’s unnamed because I really just don’t know his name, and, like the rest of the world, don’t care to look it up because he’s not Patrick Stump or Pete Wentz)*, also said this:

The only question Im not answering is the”FOB break up”one.Were not breaking up,were on break!This is the last time Ill say that

But still, it’s interesting that right after I shat all over Fall Out Boy and several members of New Found Glory put it up on their respective Twitters and Tumblrs, making it so that a certain member of Fall Out Boy could very conceivably have read it, the band decides to take a long break.

What’s even more interesting is what that certain member of Fall Out Boy had to say on the subject:

My biggest personal reason for taking a break is that I feel my name has become a hindrance for the band. (Frontman Patrick Stump) is a musical genius and it’s unfortunate that he gets reviewed based on whatever’s going on in my personal life or how my hair looks. I think the world needs a little less Pete Wentz. A lot of people think Fall Out Boy is me. But it’s the four of us. I want to fucking vomit when I read intros that say, ‘Pete Wentz: accidental internet poster boy.’ It makes me feel ugly. –MSN

MSN MusicBefore you even think it, I don’t honestly think Pete Wentz read my little blog post or that it had anything at all to do with Fall Out Boy’s hiatus. However, it is intriguing how closely his statements about himself resemble mine about him. I already apologized for giving Fall Out Boy such a hard time, so, in the interest of keeping this post somewhat more objective (I use that term loosely) than my past articles, I won’t twist the knife (even though I would very much like to). In fact, I almost commend Wentz for stepping out of the spotlight for a minute or two. (Almost). We’ll see how long that lasts.

Meanwhile, the drummer and non-Stump guitarist have started a metal band with the lead singer of Every Time I Die and the dude from Anthrax who’s always on VH1. Really.

So now I think it’s time for me to lay off Fall Out Boy. There is no need anymore. My New Year’s resolution is to spend more time writing about good music and actual issues and less time bashing the music I don’t like. Having said that, I do think, for the sake education and my own mental health, what I said before needed to be said. 

I’ll even plug their new album: Fall Out Boy’s greatest hits disc, Believers Never Die, is in stores now.

*Okay, his name is Joe Trohman. The Twitter gave it away. Yeah, I was trying to be clever.
