Good Old War performs (older) new song, “My Own Sinking Ship” (live video)

by mikeflanagan1

When I interviewed guitarist Dan Schwartz of Good Old War last October, he said the band’s next release would be “a big rock-and-roll album…the coolest thing I’ve ever been a part of.” If “My Own Sinking Ship,” a newer song the band has been playing live for a while now, is any indication, Good Old War’s new material won’t stray too far from Only Way to Be Alone…and why should it, right? But, as far as I’m aware, there has been no indication that this song will be on the album; Schwartz also said they had more songs than they knew what to do with. Either way, “My Own Sinking Ship” gives us more of what makes Good Old War so wonderful and refreshing: simplicity, honesty, and great harmonies. Watch them perform it in the highest quality video I’ve seen of the song yet.

