DAILY SHUFFLE: Blink 182 – “Sometimes”

by mikeflanagan1

I’m sure I’m not the only 20(something)-year-old who grew up on Blink in the late 90s/early 00s, but I’m of a dissolving crowd that doesn’t mind admitting it. When I first started on the WECB music staff two (three?) semesters ago, I mistakenly introduced myself as, “Mike Flanagan, sophomore Journalism major from the South Shore. I grew up on pop-punk…” I might as well have cut myself off right there, because everyone stopped listening and started wondering how in the name of Surfer Blood I slipped through the cracks. Since then, I’ve been subject to the occasional (lighthearted and chummy) ridicule from my staffmates and forced to review all the beggarly 2010 pop-punk shit that plops its way into our inbox (I’m looking at you, You Me At Six).

Yes, Enema sucked me in with it’s hooks that stuck to me like a fresh booger on a windsheild…I was nine when I heard “What’s My Age Again,” for the first time, so you can’t get me for that. Perhaps had I been 13, I would have already been gunned down by Cheshire Cat, Blink’s first studio album, on which “Sometimes” is the seventh track. I won’t dive too deep into the track for fear of coming up with my spine poking out the side of my neck. If Mark Hoppus and Tom DeLonge are preteens stuck in nearly middle-aged bodies, “Sometimes,” and the rest of Cheshire Cat, for that matter, is what you would expect them to produce in teenage bodies.

Devout Blink fans can argue that their dog-sodomizing heroes were seminal in the development of punk all they want; they weren’t. I could even change the wording of the previous sentence to make it sound less absurd, and the answer would still be an eager “no.” They were, however, a valuable and now-nostalgic snapshot of what life was like for suburban white kids whose parents generally loved each other and treated them fairly, but just not fairly enough by their tubesock-wearing standards. As sarcastic as that proclamation comes off, it’s as serious as “Adam’s Song” was supposed to be; why should the middle-class white kids from the 90s be wiped off the radar just because they grew up in an era where black people enjoyed constitutional rights, women could hold public office, and politics were just too damn boring to interrupt a hard day’s loitering in front of the local Mexican joint?

And for old times’ sake:

